Meals on Budget

One Main Ingredient ~ Number of Possibilites

A bag of rice – how many dishes can you create??? June 1, 2009

Filed under: Announcement,Cooking Tips — Dolyana @ 12:00 am
Tags: , , ,

A bowl of rice

A bowl of rice

 Do you eat rice everyday?  yes, I do at least once a day. Do you cook rice everyday then? no, i don’t. I always cooked enough rice for 3 days and store them in the fridge. I find that this save me time specially when i am tired, hungry and impatient to wait for rice to cook.

The way I prepare the rice for freezing  is while rice is still warm, I scoop two portion size of rice on to double layer of gladwrap this will ensure that the moist is lock within the gladwrap. I let it cool down and then put them in the freeze. When i need it, i take it out from the freeze, 2-3 min in microwave, voila warm fragrant rice

We eat few type of rice depending on what i am cooking on the day. Mostly Jasmine rice , if i am cooking Japanese I will use Koshi-Hikari Rice (Suitable for Sushi), Glutinous Rice (for Chinese Rice Dumpling , Lotus Leaf Rice), Black Glutinous Rice (my fav dessert – Pulut Hitam).

Anyway enough about type of rice, I bought a bottle of jasmine rice yesterday, Lets say I am preparing dinner for two. What will i serve? What is your fav “One-Dish” Rice Meals?

Jasmine Rice

Jasmine Rice

Here is my Rice dishes

Rice 1.0 – Chinese Sausage Claypot Rice
Rice 2.0 – Thai Fried Rice (Khao Pad)
Rice 3.0 – Tomato Sauce Fried Rice
Rice 4.0 – Mushroom Konnyaku Rice
Rice 5.0 – Three Colour Rice (Spicy Miso Minced Pork, Egg, Green Pea)
Rice 6.0 – Three Treasures Rice (三寶飯)
Rice 7.0 – Hokkien Fried Rice
Rice 8.0 – Minced Pork Herb Salad Rice
 

2 Responses to “A bag of rice – how many dishes can you create???”

  1. cuti3 Says:

    thai fried rice!!!

  2. arale79 Says:

    cuti3 : for me, Nasi Goreng top on my list 🙂


Leave a comment