Meals on Budget

One Main Ingredient ~ Number of Possibilites

Side Dishes – Sambal Ikan Teri (Chilli Anchovies and Peanut) June 20, 2009


Sambal Ikan Teri

Sambal Ikan Teri

A few months ago my sister sent me link to a Japanese Online groceries site which sell frozen dried anchovies. She was told to eat more dried anchovies as it is a great source of calcium. Today when I am going through my pantry, I saw a pack of dried anchovies sitting in the pantry untouched, I must have bought it then thinking that i could do with calcium booster ha ha.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup dried anchovies (deep fried)
  • 1/2 cup peanut (deep fried)
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 2 tbsp homemade chilli paste
  • 4 tbsp tamarind water
  • 3 cloves slice shallot
  • 1/2 tbsp Kecap Manis (sweet soya sauce)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
Ingredients

Ingredients

Preparations

  • in a nonstick wok, add in oil and shallot, stir till fragrant and add in chilli paste, stir for a minute and then add anchovies and peanut in, make sure the chilli paste is coated evenly and then add tamarind water , kecap manis and sugar in.
  • stir for 3-4 minutes until sugar has melt and caramelised. ready to serve

Enjoy

Arale79

 

7 Responses to “Side Dishes – Sambal Ikan Teri (Chilli Anchovies and Peanut)”

  1. Wayne Says:

    I was in Jakarta the other day and had a ikan peanut chilli dish, wow it was better than the rest of the food l had on the table at that time, just a great flavour that maybe I could try to reproduce fingers crossed, but being I’m a Bule guy that loves Asian food of course I brought all the ingredients to make it at home, I’ll let you know how it turns out, thanks for the tip about tamarind as I don’t think I would have put that in !

    When I’m away I like to eat at places that woman are cooking, my thoughts are the recepies may have been past down to the girls and if your a woman cooking in a Indo or Malay kitchen chances are your pretty good at what you do right !!

    Here’s to Bagus Makan !!!

    Wayne

  2. Wayne Says:

    Made it and yep sin can can as you’d say in Bali : bayuk bagus makan !!!!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.